Blood Orange Rosemary Soda Syrup

Blood Orange Rosemary Syrup

Tuesday is supposed to be Spring Through Your Stash day.  I know. If you had any progress, feel free to tell us about in the comments.

I had absolutely no fiber time this week and it makes me want to cry a little. However there’s a lot that makes me want to cry a little right now so take it with some skepticism.

However I have had some serious kitchen time as I’ve been really amping up my kitchencraft. I went and bought a mint plant, and spent multiple hours in there cleaning this weekend. Sadly, there’s probably still hours to go to get it to where I’ll be happy, but it’s a start.

Can It Up’s theme for April is oranges. At the very end of March I made Sunshine jam, and this is the syrup counterpart to that. I’m desperately trying to cut down on the salt in my diet for health reasons, but I can’t shake soda. I just really like soda. It may be my one true vice right now. What I’ve found helps me cut back, if not cutting soda out completely, is seltzer with homemade syrups.

It’s still sugar, but I know what’s in these syrups. I can drink gallons of seltzer this way-which is conveniently salt free.

We are at the extreme tail end of citrus season in the States and most citrus outside of lemons and maybe limes are about to sky rocket in price. I didn’t process this batch, but I’ll add processing instructions if you want to make some when citrus comes back down near the end of the year.

Blood Orange Rosemary Soda Syrup

For both versions-

4-6 good sized blood oranges, peeled and segmented*

1 cup white or raw sugar

1 pinch each dried mint and rosemary

In a non-reactive bowl add everything and let macerate at least four hours.

For fridge version

Place macerated fruit into a non-reactive pot and bring to a boil over medium high. Allow to boil for at least 10 minutes, smashing on the fruit every so often to help it release its juice. Keeping the seeds in the fruit will help it thicken up a little.

Place a wide mouthed funnel into a pint sized jar and place a small strainer into the funnel. Carefully pour the hot fruit into the strainer and allow to drain until it stops dripping. When th e fruit stops dripping, carefully push on the fruit with a spatula to release the rest of the juice.

When the syrup cools, cover and store in the fridge.

For the canned version

Prep at least 3 quarter pint jars and hold for canning.

Following fridge instructions, pull fruit at 5 minutes and and strain as directed. Put the hot syrup back into the pan, bring back to a boil, and boil at least for another five minutes. You may want to measure out your syrup before reboiling and add a little water to keep it from cooking down too much.

Fill jars to within 1/2 inch of top and process for 10 minutes.

*I like my drinks on the bitter side, especially if I want to use my syrups for cocktails. I did not supreme the fruit for this batch. If you want to make sure your syrup is only sweet, supreme your oranges making sure to collect the orange juice in the container you intend on macerating in.

Bloggers-I have started a new group board on Pinterest. Open to all DIY, craft, food, or other creative blogs, I would love to have you join. Joining instructions are posted on the board-join here.

Please, stop by this week’s Inspired Weekends!

Linked to-

weed em and reap

create with joy

the plaid and paisley

clairejustine

lil suburban homestead

this gal cooks

little house in the suburbs

the self sufficient homeacre

handy man crafty woman

family home and life

the tasty fork

mom’s test kitchen

backyard farming connection

mamaldiane

memories by the mile

carolyn’s homework

ginger snap crafts

vmg206

2 comments

  1. I have two questions. First, what does “supreme your oranges” mean? Second, can you use this syrup with those home soda makers? Thanks

    1. Supreming is when you cut the top and bottom off of an orange, then cut the rest of the peel off of the orange, then cut the segments out of the membrane. It’s easier than it looks and you can find videos on Youtube.

      I’m not sure if you can use it with a soda maker. I’m not sure what the difference in viscosity would be, but you could try it.

Leave a Reply

