Feeling the Burn

This is the face of a veiled blogger experiencing burn out.

This is the face of a veiled blogger experiencing burn out.

I made funeral mac for the first time in two months yesterday.

I’m not saying that we normally eat a lot of homemade macaroni and cheese.

What I’m saying is that I haven’t cooked in close to two months.

And it was a fight to get myself to do it. The blog has been full of nothing but yarn posts for a reason. That’s all I’ve been able to do bring myself to do for weeks now. My house is in shambles, we eat boxed food, and I don’t even drink enough water anymore. Exercise? What’s that?

What’s down time, even?

That’s right, I have submitted to homesteading’s biggest, nastiest enemy: burnout.

That moment when everything goes from an exciting trip into self-sufficiency and you’re making extracts out of everything you can fit into a canning jar, to a chore that you do because it’s cheaper/more fulfilling/a better political move, to not caring anymore, reaching for bottled water and a Mighty Taco.

I think that there’s light at the end of the tunnel, because I actually sort of want to get back on track.

My plan is this:

1. Baby steps. It’s how I got into homesteading in the first place.

2. More realistic goals. I already know that making laundry soap isn’t going to fly right now, and I need to make my don’t do list longer than chicken keeping and homemade laundry soap.

3. Let myself be human. I can’t do everything even if I wanted to, and even small steps are better than no steps.

4. Play again. Part of it is that I was doing massive amounts of the same thing over and over, which just gets obnoxious.

5. 2 minute tasks. I want to do a post on just this, but this is something my friend taught me: if you’re like me and hate to clean (yes, not just dislike it but actively hate it) stop thinking of it as huge tasks. Just a whole bunch of things that can be done in under two minutes, as in, break down the tasks. It works, Trust me.

How do you deal with burn out? Or are you one of the lucky ones who maintains balance?

 

Bloggers-I have started a new group board on Pinterest. Open to all DIY, craft, food, or other creative blogs, I would love to have you join. Joining instructions are posted on the board-join here.

Please, stop by this week’s Inspired Weekends!

Linked to-

the tasty fork

mom’s test kitchen

the self sufficient homeacre

joyful homemaking

the chicken chick

i should be mopping the floor

a pinch of joy

nifty thrifty things

titi craft

flour me with love

frugal by choice

the prairie homestead

2 comments

  1. I am having burnout,too. After all the Easter, first communion dresses, and flower girl dresses since Jan., I thought I could take a little break. Well, that’s not happening. Veggies in the garden need tending to. My house is also a huge mess. Hubby of over 43 yrs. says laundry, housework, and picking up after him is just “busy” work. I design and sew children’s heirloom clothing for a high end boutique and work 10 hours each day. This keeps me VERY busy. Not to mention a high maintenance husband and active 2 1/2 year old golden retriever. I am starting over today with baby steps. Thanks for letting me vent. Have a wonderful day, Linda.

Leave a Reply

