Beer Bbq Braised Whole Chicken

Beer Bbq Braised Whole Chicken

I made this chicken for dinner on Sunday night. Have you ever braised chicken? It takes a long time, but it’s easily my favorite way of preparing chicken. Anything where I can put a food in a pot and walk away for awhile, and then come back and have dinner is awesome.

I find that I like braising over a slow cooker because I feel that braising gives the meat a better texture. You could probably do this in a slow cooker for 6-8 hours though, I have cooked whole birds that way before.

People have been bugging me for this chicken recipe on Facebook but I will admit that this is a frankenstein recipe. I took this recipe from Local Kitchen (which I’ve made probably 6 times already, it’s a canner’s best friend), my personal recipe for beer braised beef in a crockpot, and added in some of the elements of Mississippi roast for good measure.

In other words, this is a perfect storm recipe. Use whatever beer you have in the house, whatever bbq sauce, whatever vinegar. You get the idea. I did use a lovely whole organic chicken that I found for cheap at Target. I get a lot of my meat on sale at Target because so much of their meat is organic.

(I wasn’t expecting to share this recipe so I didn’t actually photograph it. So…have this picture of live chickens instead.)

Beer Bbq Braised Whole Chicken

1 whole chicken, inside bits removed. *I didn’t skin mine, but you could

1 can beer, any

Whatever jam you need to use in your fridge (I used about a quarter pint of peach preserves and the end of a jar of apple molasses)

Pickled peppers, about 1/4 cup. Use whatever you have in your fridge, use hot sauce, or use fresh if you don’t want to use pickled. Or leave them out.

Bbq sauce

Vinegar

salt free seasoning blend, your choice

*You’ll notice there’s not a lot of measurements in this recipe. There’s a reason for that.

**I wouldn’t skin your chicken prior to cooking. You want something like fat in the recipe. You can pull the skin later. This does work better with something that adds a little moisture to the meat.

***The trick is to balance your flavors. If you add a lot of sweet, make sure to add a good amount of vinegar to cut through the sweetness. If you don’t have a lot of sweet, pull back on the vinegar.

In a large pot, place your chicken. It doesn’t matter what size down because you’re going to flip it around later anyway.

Starting with your beer, add your other ingredients. You want the sauce base to come to at least half the height of the chicken. Aim to cover it, but you don’t have to cover the chicken either. I didn’t and it was fine.

Set your burner to medium low to low and let the chicken simmer for at least two hours. Try to flip your chicken over every 20 minutes or so to make sure it cooks evenly. A smaller chicken should be done in 2 hours, a larger chicken may take some more time.

Serve as tacos, as a sandwich, or with your favorite starch. I like with coleslaw on a burrito.

 

Bloggers-I have started a new group board on Pinterest. Open to all DIY, craft, food, or other creative blogs, I would love to have you join. Joining instructions are posted on the board-join here.

Please, stop by this week’s Inspired Weekends!

Linked to-

gingersnap crafts

mom’s test kitchen

the tasty fork

ducks in a row

miz helen’s cottage

artsy fartsy mama

clearwater farm

2 comments

  1. I will be tagging this and saving it! In summer I try to stick with grill, crockpot or really fast cooking meals.. I hate ot add the heat to my house.. But this sounds like a great winter meal.. especially if I am home that day and can let it cook slowly while I tackle all the other odd jobs!

  2. What a great recipe, this Chicken would be delicious! Thank you so much for sharing your awesome recipe with Full Plate Thursday. Hope you are having a great week and come back soon!
    Miz Helen

Leave a Reply

