Tour De Fleece (Almost) Wrapped Up

sunday edwardThere’s one more day of the Tour de Fleece left for this year, and I can say that this has been the most successful year that I’ve done it.

I think that giving myself such a laid back, casual goal this year (just work fiber every day) helped dramatically. I need to take pictures of my bobbins, but I have one that’s still on the wheel that I don’t want to touch so photos may come later tomorrow or Monday.

I didn’t get many projects actually finished, in the sense of spun, plied, and off of my wheel in during the length of the Tour. I did get miles of singles spun-even with my spindle, which is back in travel rotation until Fall.

Projects I can comment on:

Unicorn Farts and Faerie Wings- A snarky name for some beautifully dyed sock fiber that Mid has fallen in love with (good thing, hint hint). This bobbin is easily the finest spin I’ve gotten off of my wheel. I’m going to n-ply it and hopefully end up with enough yardage for socks.

*It’s named the way that it is because I get really annoyed that online land only likes pretty colored things. You can have a really technically awesome natural fiber next to a fairly roughly spun brightly colored yarn, and no one will care about the really awesome natural colored fiber. But my feelings on Internet magpies are well known.

Frigga-Speaking of natural colored wool, I got another completed round and another ply ball set up for my long term natural gray cable plied Icelandic project. I’m aiming for about 1000 yards total to make myself something cabled. I’m just under the 50% point right now.

Lady Edward-the green that I keep getting compliments on that’s most definitely not blue. Mostly merino, with a little bit of random wool seconds thrown in the mix. Mostly solar dyed at camp, but I did overdye a batch that broke into brown splotches and nothing else in the oven when we got back. I’m spindle spinning it and it’ll end up a 2 ply, probably on the border of fingering/lace weight.

 

Bloggers-I have started a new group board on Pinterest. Open to all DIY, craft, food, or other creative blogs, I would love to have you join. Joining instructions are posted on the board-join here.

Please, stop by this week’s Inspired Weekends!

Linked to-

nifty thrifty

flamingo toes

the foley family

the chicken chick

pink when

reasons to skip the housework

serenity you

be different act normal

it’s so very cheri

i should be mopping the floor

heritage homesteaders

clairejustine

create with joy

a pinch of joy

Leave a Reply

