Farmer’s Market Salad

farmers market salad

Welcome to autumn, the season of terrible photos.

Seriously, the weather has just been strange this summer. I was that person refusing to say that this summer isn’t a summer, but when the truck is telling me it’s 59 degrees at 10 in the morning, I have to admit defeat. I don’t normally feel like it’s harvest season at this point of the year but I’m about ready to give up and break out my canned pumpkin.

This salad will in theory use up tons of garden produce, if you live in a place with a better growing season than we have this year. To be fair, it’s still a little early for western New York. I’m alway surprised at how late the produce comes on here.

Farmer’s Market Salad is a love child between a salad my mom made when I was growing up and a salad my high school cafeteria of all places used to make. It has sharp bite of the one my mom made (hers had no sweetener whatsoever), and the sweetness of the school’s. Add a little water or some ice to pull back on the bite.

Farmer’s Market Salad

About 6 cups chopped vegetables, whatever you have from the garden or the market

1 cup white vinegar

about 2 tablespoons raw sugar

about 2 tablespoons dill seed (or about a head’s worth fresh dill)

about 1/2 tablespoon salt free mixed seasoning (I’ve been using the 21 seasoning mix from Trader Joe’s because I was lazy and it was there)

In a large bowl, mix the vinegar and sugar until dissolved. Add spices.

Add vegetables and toss, let sit for roughly half an hour before you serve.

*To pull back on the bite, add some ice cubes while it sits. I like the bite, it’s like a really fast fridge pickle this way.

Bloggers-I have started a new group board on Pinterest. Open to all DIY, craft, food, or other creative blogs, I would love to have you join. Joining instructions are posted on the board-join here.

Please, stop by this week’s Inspired Weekends!

Linked to-

memories by the mile     mamaldiane     urban naturale

vmg206     carolyn’s homework     ladybug blessings

practically functional     bacon time     bakewell junction

skip the housework

nifty thrifty

titi craft

the chicken chick

navy wifey peters

flamingo toes

i should be mopping the floor

a pinch of joy

happy house and home

self sufficient homeacre

our heritage of health

3 comments

  1. Hi Katie,
    This takes me back to my mom’s refrigerator pickles using vegetables from our garden.Thank you for sharing this delectable Farmer’s Market Salad with us at the Healthy, Happy, Green and Natural Party Blog Hop. I’m pinning and tweeting this

Leave a Reply

