How to Make Awesome Grilled Cheeses

awesome grilled cheeses

We’re having a really dark summer.

I don’t mean we’re sitting around brooding, though I’ve certainly had my fair amount of drama that sometimes ends up on Spinning Widdershins but I don’t talk about over here. What I mean is that there doesn’t seem to be a lot of sun in the world lately.

Photography, not so much. And let’s be honest, grilled cheeses aren’t that awesome to photograph anyway.

What makes an awesome grilled cheese awesome? The stuff in it has to be as awesome as possible. Pickle your own vegetables, and find yourself an heirloom tomato. It will make a difference.

How to Make Awesome Grilled Cheeses

Normal grilled cheese (please tell me you know how to make a grilled cheese. I’m honestly not even sure that I know how to blog about how to make a grilled cheese.)

How to make it awesome:

Pickled onions (or really thinly sliced raw) (this batch had rosemary instead of curry, I recommend it)

heirloom tomatoes, sliced thin (I like the black ones or the giant ones with the ridges)

Pickled peppers

When you make your sandwich, put the stuff in between two layers of cheese. It keeps it from getting all mushy.

And trust me on the home pickled vegetables and the heirloom tomatoes. Especially the tomatoes. Splurge on the tomato.

If you’re really feeling awesome, splurge on some awesome mustard and break out the pickles. Charred grilled cheeses are awesome dipped in mustard, and pickles make everything better.

If you feel really, really, really awesome, get some New York State Hunter’s Cheddar. The ultra sharp, cut wrapping paper with it sharp, cheddar that comes in giant wheels.

Bloggers-I have started a new group board on Pinterest. Open to all DIY, craft, food, or other creative blogs, I would love to have you join. Joining instructions are posted on the board-join here.

Please, stop by this week’s Inspired Weekends!

Linked to-

vmg206

carolyn’s homework

craft dictator

mamaldiane
miz helen’s

mama’s blog central

house on the way

lil miss tori

lambert’s lately

adorned from above

five little chefs

bloom designs

posed perfection

joyful homemaking

mama gab

4 comments

  1. I always have to have my pickles with the Grilled Cheese, this sounds so good! Thanks so much for sharing with Full Plate Thursday and have a great day!
    Come Back Soon!
    Miz Helen

Leave a Reply

