Late Summer Jam: Cherry Melomel

Something weird has happened.

I’ve completely run out of room. I should pull my kitchen apart and re-arrange, but until I get to that, I’ve filled every space that I can for food storage. The freezer is overflowing, the canning boxes are full, there’s no room in the cupboards.

It’s a great feeling, but it also means that it’s a waste of my time to do my normal summer canning-I have nowhere to put it.

So I’ve started microbatching, playing with produce I can’t afford to buy in large enough quantities to do a run large enough to make it worth running my canner for. Cherries are one of those fruits. I’ve been giving into the luxury of eating tons of fresh produce this summer, but I want to get some jam into the fridge.

Melomel is mead made with fruit. If you can’t get it, use a plain traditional mead. If you can’t find that, use a honey liquor. If you don’t want alcohol, use apple or cherry juice.

Cherry Melomel Microbatch Jam

sweet cherries, pitted

honey

melomel

fresh mint

In a large jar or glass bowl, add pitted cherries.

Add a good squeeze or two of honey, a splash of melomel, and a pinch of fresh mint.

Let macerate in the fridge at least overnight.

In large pot, cook down to jell point or desired consistency.

Place in a small jar and place in the fridge.

Bloggers-I have started a new group board on Pinterest. Open to all DIY, craft, food, or other creative blogs, I would love to have you join. Joining instructions are posted on the board-join here.

Please, stop by this week’s Inspired Weekends!

Linked to-

adorned from above     a life in balance

mom’s test kitchen     miz helene’s     ducks in a row

a little r and r     lambert’s lately     posed perfection

pickled okra     joyful homemaking     five little chefs

bloom designs     bacon time    rattlebridge farm

the chicken chick

 

3 comments

  1. Your Summer Jam Cherry Melomel looks wonderful! Thanks so much for sharing your awesome recipe with Full Plate Thursday this week. Have a great weekend and come back real soon!
    Miz Helen

Leave a Reply

