Mint Extract 2014

mint extract

You’re not going to get sexy, sexy urban homesteading photos off of this blog.

Nope.

That table there in the photo is about the sole space I have for growing things. I live in a shoe box. Buffalo doesn’t like chickens, I don’t have the space for them anyway. The neighbors would run me out if we got a goat.

We’re talking about making a tiered plant stand for next year but there’s a lot of time between now and last year.

So my own and only harvest for the year will be mint, because I have three mint plants that are determined to not let me kill them off-though I’ve certainly tried on more than once. I’m no gardener.

The lime mint was trying to slip the sides of the pot and crawl away, so extract time!

I posted how to make extract last summer, but for a quick run down, mint extracts are beyond simple.

Extracting mint:

mint leaves, to fill container

-cheap- vodka

a  glass container

weights (optional)

Pick your leaves, avoiding anything that looks funky. Wash them and either let dry or pat dry with a towel

Place into your jar. I weighted my jar this year (which is what looks weird in the photo). It’s a fermentation trick to make sure everything stays under the surface. Yes, that’s a plastic food grade bag. Yes, the vodka already came out of a food grade plastic container. No, you don’t have to do this step-or you could wrap your weight in cheesecloth. They’re the glass marbles you use in vases.

Add vodka to cover, I aim for more than covering-I aim for at least 1/2 inch more vodka than leaves.

Let sit somewhere for 1-3 months, then strain.

Bloggers-I have started a new group board on Pinterest. Open to all DIY, craft, food, or other creative blogs, I would love to have you join. Joining instructions are posted on the board-join here.

Please, stop by this week’s Inspired Weekends!

Linked to-

miz helene’s    lambert’s lately     posed perfection

pickled okra     pistachio project     joyful homemaking

five little chefs     bloom designs     bacon time

a life in balance     homestead blogging network     our heritage of health

rattlebridge farm     clairejustine     cooking with curls

cooking with ruthie     coffee with us 3    simply sweet home

snippets of inspiration

pinkwhen

create with joy

i should be mopping the floor

the chicken chick

a pinch of joy

delineate your home

sew can do

 

6 comments

  1. Hi saw you at the link party with five chefs and wanted to drop in and say Hi. So what do you then do with the mint extract? Is is similar to an essential oil? This is interesting to me…
    Amanda @ Azmomma.com

  2. We have mint in several beds here and this will be a fantastic way to use it. Thanks so much for sharing your awesome recipe with Full Plate Thursday this week. Have a great weekend and come back real soon!
    Miz Helen

Leave a Reply

