On the Suspension of Disbelief

ghost month 2014

There was mass flailing a couple of weeks ago on one of the haunting groups I follow when one of the members of a certain big name paranormal show came out and claimed that most of the ‘evidence’ was faked.

I don’t want to sound snobby, but considering Ghost Hunters has been on the air in one form or another since I was in high school-are we still considering these shows to be ‘real’?

I actually do believe in the paranormal-and I have never once looked at one of those shows as being ‘proof’ of life after death. Maybe proof in the human mind’s ability to freak itself out. But not proof of the afterlife.

So why do people watch these things? This is a question I get a lot-in some form of how does someone who’s fairly well educated still get something out of a show about a plumber chasing ghosts. You can’t possibly believe these things, can you?

Guys, it’s entertainment. I find ghost media entertaining. I like ghost stories. I don’t know why. I can understand the confusion, I really do-I really don’t get why people are into rom coms. That’s not a hit against people who like rom coms, I really just don’t get the appeal.

I think that if you were to push most people, you’d find that if they like these shows, they don’t believe in them either. It’s about pushing boundaries and exploring ‘what ifs’. It’s not about the fact that the house needing new pipes-it’s about what could be going on that still makes the universe magical.

Leave a Reply

