Late Summer Jam: Blue Plum

I like to keep my plum jam simple.

Plums, and sugar.

No pectin, no spices, nothing but raw sugar and plums.

This is the only jam that I make this simply-even my strawberry jam is made with black strap brown sugar. Not the plums.

Just plummy goodness. I love to use plum jam as a stand in for plum sauce on chicken and in stir fries.

By all means, add some cinnamon and mint, I mean, it’s awesome that way. But there’s something about how really awesome plums cook down that has me in love with the simplicity of this jam.

*You don’t need to peel plums for jams. The skins will cook down, but if you really want to-go right ahead.

Blue Plum Jam

Raw Sugar

Blue plums

Half and stone your plums, placing into a large glass jar or bowl.

Add about half as much raw sugar as you have plums (so 1 cup sugar to 2 cups fruit).

Place in the fridge and let macerate at least overnight. They can sit longer than that if necessary.

Cook down about 20-30 minutes, or until you hit jell point or the consistency you like.

Place into clean jars and store in the fridge or freezer.

*You can water process this jam in half pints for 10 minutes. Add a little lemon to cut the sweetness if you would like.

Bloggers-I have started a new group board on Pinterest. Open to all DIY, craft, food, or other creative blogs, I would love to have you join. Joining instructions are posted on the board-join here.

Please, stop by this week’s Inspired Weekends!

Linked to-

nifty thrifty things

a peek into my paradise

a pinch of joy

a round tuit

a bright and beautiful life


flamingo toes

flour me with love

titi craft

the chicken chick

denise designed

delineate your dwelling

three mango seeds


create with joy


carrie this home

i should be mopping the floor


Leave a Reply

