Shepherd’s Pie

shepherds pie

‘Why would you name a blog Horrific Knits and expect people to read it?!’

Well, they do read it-to the tune of about 500 hits a day.

I haven’t talked about the name of my blog in a couple of years, and since people are ahem expressing their opinion on the subject elsewhere: the blog started out called Red Crow, Green Crow and was -only- fiber arts. I don’t know why I called it that. I just liked birds.

Anyway, after awhile I started pulling more and more horror content in with the knitting-so I had this idea of calling it Horrific Knits: Knitting has never been so scary. All very tongue in cheek, or something. Anyway, after awhile it evolving into the horror/folklore/homesteading mishmash it is now. I know that it’s not everyone’s cup of tea-but I’m a female horror reviewer. There’s a lot that has already been thrown at me, so I’m pretty laid back on the whole thing.

My thoughts go something like this: if you’re not going to read a blog based on name, you’re probably not my target audience anyway. This is where the law of happiness applies: you’re never going to make everyone happy anyway. Considering I’ve had people annoyed about everything Netflix calling a film a horror movie to how many pictures I use and where I place them, I can’t really let these things bother me.  Because I also get comments telling me that readers think the name is hysterical.

Seriously: you can’t make everyone happy. Don’t even bother trying.

What did make Mid happy? This shepherd’s pie. I made it the night before and put in the fridge over night. I baked it the next day. I might make all my shepherd’s pie this way now.

Shepherd’s Pie

*This is another one of my patented, recipe is adjusted to ingredients recipes. As in, I don’t have any hard and fast amounts listed.

-Root vegetables

-meatloaf mix, 1 package

-assorted vegetables like peas and corn

-1 1/2 to 2 cups shredded sharp cheddar

-about 2 cloves worth minced garlic

For the root vegetables-I used ‘however many new potatoes came in a box from the farmer’s market’, a bag of marked down baby carrots, and a sweet potato. Use whatever you have. You want maybe 3 cups total of mashed vegetables. Enough to cover the top of the pie.

Boil your root vegetables to fork tender and mash. Set aside to cool a little, they’ll spread easier when they’re not completely, boiling hot.

Brown your meat till just before completely cooked through. Near the end, add your garlic so it doesn’t scorch. Let meat cool a little.

In a baking pan, spread your meat over the bottom. Layer with the vegetables you didn’t mash.

Carefully spread and mush your mashed vegetables over the top.

In an oven preheated to 400, bake for 10-15 minutes.

Remove and cover with cheese.

All to bake for an additional 10-15 minutes until heated through and cheese is melted.

Bloggers-I have started a new group board on Pinterest. Open to all DIY, craft, food, or other creative blogs, I would love to have you join. Joining instructions are posted on the board-join here.

Please, stop by this week’s Inspired Weekends!

Linked to-

mabey she made it

vmg206

carolyn’s homework

adorned from above

family home and life

Leave a Reply

