Roasted Tomato Sauce

roasted tomato sauce

I cook when I get stressed.

This is nothing new, I’ve talked about this before.

Today’s stress was at least productive-Mid had two job interviews. It turns out that the job interviews I stress out the most for are the ones I’m not the one going for.

So, no I didn’t exactly feel like a room, with or without a roof. I did however have a room with about five pounds of tomatoes in it because I keep swearing I’m going to fix the burner and get my canner going. However, Local Kitchen has a recipe for roasted tomato sauce and Local Kitchen hasn’t steered me wrong yet.

The thing though is, I didn’t follow the recipe because I don’t normally follow recipes if I’m not baking-any long term reader of this blog will understand that’s why my recipes are so weird. This probably falls at least relatively close, but I pretty much just baked and blended vegetables.

I was also agitated enough with the interviews I personally would not be attending that I didn’t photograph anything. Whoops.

Luckily, this means that this recipe is insanely adjustable. Use what you need to use.

Roasted Tomato Sauce

Based on Local Kitchen’s Garden Sauce

tomatoes

assorted vegetables

garlic

fresh basil and rosemary

Apple cider vinegar

baking pan or lipped cookie sheet

Preheat your oven to 400.

At least core your tomatoes, but they don’t have to be skinned. Put them face down on your pan.

Place your other vegetables around the tomatoes- I used carrots, peppers, onions, tomatoes, and garlic. I peeled the onion but not the carrots or the tomatoes.

Bake at 400 for at least 45 minutes.

Carefully pulse in a blender or use an immersion blender, adding your fresh herbs.

Stir in a glug of vinegar.

*This does make the best sauce I’ve made yet, but I would pull back on how long I blended it or let the blitzed sauce cook down a little. I also would up how much seasonings I personally would use, but that’s a flavor preference.

 

Bloggers-I have started a new group board on Pinterest. Open to all DIY, craft, food, or other creative blogs, I would love to have you join. Joining instructions are posted on the board-join here.

Please, stop by this week’s Inspired Weekends!

Linked to-

miz helens

artsy fartsy

posed perfection

pistachio project

cooking with ruthie

snippets of inspiration

be different act normal

bowdabra

will cook for smiles

 

3 comments

  1. Your Roasted Tomato Sauce would be delicious! Hope you have a great week and thanks so much for sharing your awesome recipe with Full Plate Thursday. Your post has been pinned with the party!
    Come Back Soon!
    Miz Helen

Leave a Reply

