Make Your Own: Sweetened Condensed Milk

Make Your Own Sweetened Condensed Milk

Cost/benefit analysis.

When you compare the cost of a thing, to the benefits derived from that thing, to decide if the cost is worth it.

In the end, I will say this: I will most likely be buying my sweetened condensed milk in those little cans, at least when I can find it on sale.

I’m glad that I tried this project, and I will say that there are two benefits to it:

1. I can make it with raw sugar (I can have sugar, I’m just not supposed to have processed white sugar)

2. It is actually marginally cheaper

-But-

I cooked my batch for an hour and forty minutes, and still didn’t have the consistency I really liked.

So my cost/benefit analysis: if I have a weekend at home, and the milk, I’ll do this again. But I’ll probably just buy the little cans.

If you would like to try this at home:

1 quart whole milk

1/2 cup raw sugar

Bring to a simmer on no higher than medium, and let simmer down until your milk reduces to the consistency you’re looking for.

Bloggers-I have started a new group board on Pinterest. Open to all DIY, craft, food, or other creative blogs, I would love to have you join. Joining instructions are posted on the board-join here.

Please, stop by this week’s Inspired Weekends!

Linked to-

pinkwhen

life on lakeshore drive

flamingo toes

silhouette school

sew can do

nifty thrifty things

titi craft

the chicken chick

that’s what che said

uss crafty

it’s so very cheri

i should be mopping the floor

a pinch of joy

a round tuit

flour me with love

create with joy

carrie this home

keeping it simple

2 comments

Leave a Reply

