Make Your Own: Stove Top Pumpkin Butter

photo credit-Petradr/Unsplash {free use}

photo credit-Petradr/Unsplash {free use}

I keep running into people in Buffalo who are refusing to let the seasons change.

They are clinging to summer with all the strength that they have. It’s still early September but we’re definitely hit the downward slide. I walked to the grocery store last night after dark, and it’s definitely not warm at night anymore.

Pumpkin has become one of those meta-symbols for fall; I’m fairly certain I could teach intro to intro semiotics with it (and most people are not like me and don’t think primarily in abstracts-intro to intro is necessary. Also, never ask me to balance your check book). Here’s  a picture of a pumpkin, what am I trying to tell you?

I really believe most Americans are going to hit somewhere near the Autumn mark.

I tried to find a picture of a pumpkin. I really did try, but I found this picture of leaves on Unsplash (have you been on Unsplash? Even just to look around? The photos are great, free, and free use). Close enough, I guess.

Tips:

Boiled cider is just that, cider that’s boiled until it’s reduced by at least half. It’s a little time consuming but certainly not hard. You can make your own, or you can simply sub a little cider or apple juice. Water would even work in a pinch.

You’re reducing out the water in the pumpkin, so make sure you’re cooking low and slow and stir often, or you’re going to run the risk of scorching.

You can sub the ground cinnamon for a few cinnamon sticks and fish them out before bottling.

Store in the fridge or freezer. Pumpkin puree is not recommended for home canning.

Sweeten to taste. I used two or three good squeezes on my honey jar. I know, very scientific.

pumpkin butter 2

1 can pumpkin puree

2 tablespoons boiled cider (see tips above)

2 teaspoons ground cinnamon

honey, to taste

 

In a small pot over medium low heat, add the cider and cinnamon. Add the pumpkin, stirring until well mixed. Cook down at least half an hour, stirring often.

Pull from heat, cool slightly, and jar. Store in the fridge.

Use as a spread or in baked goods.

*An Operation Autumn Project

Bloggers-I have started a new group board on Pinterest. Open to all DIY, craft, food, or other creative blogs, I would love to have you join. Joining instructions are posted on the board-join here.

Please, stop by this week’s Inspired Weekends!

Linked to-

flour me with love

clairejustine

create with joy

carrie this home

keeping it simple

sew can do

that’s what che said

a round tuit

vmg206
memories by the mile

posed perfection 

2 comments

Leave a Reply

