The Year of the Three Suns

the year of three suns[This post was edited by my own decision. There’s a term for those of us from the island that I personally have no issue with but always forget is a hot button topic. Language has been shifted to reflect that.]

I have had the odd distinction of having a conversation similar to the one below on multiple occasions:

[Individual]: You’re Canadian, you have the accent.

[Me]: Yes, but that’s from living this close to the border, I haven’t been in Canada for over 20 years.

[Individual]: …Yeah, but it’s obvious you’re from Newfoundland.

[Me]: I envision Newfoundland as an island covered in mes,, from the way people keep telling me this.

Even my mother is in on the act; she has left links on my Facebook wall explaining how you can tell if someone’s from Newfoundland. I can’t deny it, these lists do creepily match my description.

Newfoundland legends are…odd. I don’t know if it’s the cultural mix, the weather, the history, or a combination of all three, but I sometimes see St. John’s as a giant horror movie set in my head. Even my father is in on it-he claims to have run into a ghost train while out hunting one winter. Like most legend heavy places, I’m sure that life is really normal and boring. We just have passing references to the times when it wasn’t.

The Year of the Three Suns

According to legend, there was a day in the spring of 1838 when three suns were visible in the sky. It happened on a particularly nasty day, around 11:15 in the morning. The suns were plainly visible even through the bad weather.

There doesn’t seem to be much more recorded about this event-however, it is recorded as the Spring of the Three Suns so it must have had some lingering impact. I can imagine that, even if this were to be an optical illusion of some form, that looking up and seeing three suns in the sky would be a little rattling.

The skies were a little vicious during that century. There are also reports of blood rains and the sky turning red for two straight days. These were separate times-oddly, I think I’d actually be more comfortable if the blood rain and the sky turning colors happened together. According to local legend, the rain can be explained by the Sluagh feeling particularly angsty that day. I honestly never thought I’d see the Sluagh mentioned in a newspaper-even in a culture/opinion column. Ragey angst fairies or not, the rain, at least, is most likely explained by ash or drifting dust. It should also be noted that by the time the rains fell in Newfoundland, while the event was probably more than a little startling, people had assumed there was a natural answer for close to 2,000 years.

Mysteries and Legends of Newfoundland and Labrador

Spring of the Three Suns

A Shower of Blood

Blood Rain

Leave a Reply

