Chili-tot Bake

 

Yeah…I went weird with this pic. I was playing. I don’t think I’ll do it again.

Frankly, I’m a heathen when it comes to chili. There’s a lot of people that will argue that my chili isn’t chili at all.

Especially this batch, with its Oktoberfest beer, sweet potatoes, and baking chocolate.

I don’t really care though, I like the way it tastes.

I saw this dish on Pinterest years ago. It’s total borderline junk food comfort food. It’s also insanely easy and relatively cheap-always a plus when I’m cooking on Mid’s work weekends. I like things that I don’t have to babysit when I’m putting something in the oven to have ready when he gets home. It makes me sound much more traditional than I actually am, but I like to have food ready for him when he gets out of work.

This would be a great leftover busting recipe if you’ve been tailgating or just don’t know what to do with that three gallons of chili you made earlier in the week.

Chili-tot Bake

2 lb bag of frozen tator tots

4 cups chili (favorite recipe, I used my Hobgobin chili)

Roughly 2 cups shredded cheddar cheese

Preheat oven to 450

Line a 13×9 baking pan with parchment paper. Add your chili to the bottom of the pan, and top with tator tots, making sure to cover as much chili as you can.

Bake for 10 minutes, then remove, top with cheese, and bake for another 10 minutes.

Let sit a few minutes before serving.

Leave a Reply

