Make Your Own: Squash Puree

Via Pixabay/free use image

Via Pixabay/free use image

This should be the ‘make your own pumpkin puree’ post but when I went to the farmer’s market looking for a baking pumpkin, the man working the table just gave me a deer in the headlights look.

So I came home with a butternut squash. It doesn’t really work for pie, but squash puree is a good stand in for pumpkin for things like muffins and cookies.

I’ve wanted to try this for a couple of years. The question isn’t is it hard-the question is ‘is it cost effective.’ A can of pumpkin at Aldis is retailing for $.90 for roughly 2 cups of pumpkin.

I actually forgot to ask how much the squash at the farmer’s market because of the gourd related flailing. They’re going for $1.99 at Aldis so we’ll use that number.

So in order for this to be worth it, I need to get more than four cups of puree.

The short answer: I didn’t.

10710536_10100620668966495_6282372627932531947_n

Make Your Own Puree

1 butternut squash

13×9 pan

1/2 cup(ish) water

Preheat your oven to 350

Cut your butternut squash in half and seed it. I cut it into chunks to make it easier for me to manage, I don’t have a lot of upper body strength.

Put it into your pan, and add the water.

Bake for roughly 1 1/2 hours.

Remove from oven and let cool. Scrape out the insides, being careful to not get any skin into the puree. I don’t think it’s dangerous, but it can’t taste good.

Mash with a fork or a potato masher-or run through a blender.

So was it worth it? Well, I know what’s in it. And there’s no can, so there’s less waste. And I know where it came from.

But I only got 4 cups out of the batch. So I’m no further ahead. But if you find yourself with a cheap or free squash, it might be worth it.

10689718_10100620843122485_7569678861397172814_n

One comment

Leave a Reply

