Apple Cider Cupcakes (the Cheater’s Version)

apple cider cupcakes

I’m going to tell you something that is really controversial now.

It really shouldn’t be controversial, but it is.

Here we go: it’s okay to eat cake from a box.

If you have the time and the desire, scratch bake all you want. I do. I probably should be scratch baking everything I can. I have PMDD*, which can be triggered by the way that the human brain interacts with processed carbs. In other words, I should be eating as much of the lowest possible processed carbs as I can get-so scratch baking it is.

However, I also understand that sometimes you just don’t have the time to do it. Or just don’t want to.

This is the cheater’s version of an applesauce cake that I normally make from scratch. I just, frankly, didn’t feel like it this time. Remember: cake from a box, as a rare thing, isn’t the end of the world.

1 yellow cake mix

1 cup water

1/4 cup oil

3 eggs

1 small box vanilla instant pudding

1 envelope instant hot cider (or a really generous glug of boiled cider)

1 small apple, cored and chopped (peeled if desired)

optional: 1 tea pumpkin spice

Preheat oven to 350

Add everything through the apple into a large mixing bowl. Mix for 1 1/2-3 minutes depending on the strength of your mixer.

Fold in apple and pumpkin spice, if using.

Fill lined cupcake pans. Bake for 17-23 minutes.

When cooled, frost with cream cheese frosting or dust with powdered sugar.

I got 18 cupcakes out of this batch, but I had batter left over.

 

*Since I’m asked this fairly frequently, I have a medical diagnosis of PMDD. I was diagnosed in the winter of 2005.

Leave a Reply

