Cheddar-Apple Pie

cheddar apple pie

Someone asked me, quite scandalized, if I had ever heard of putting cheese on an apple pie before.

I had indeed, but I haven’t had it since I was a child.

It’s an old-school Northeastern thing. I’m assuming that other areas do it as well, or did. Or did/do they? I’m not sure. Anyway, I remember my grandmother making apple pies in the fall and serving them with the knife sharp cheddar cheese that you can get in CNY and Upstate. Sometimes if she was feeling oddly, she would just bake the cheese onto the crust. That’s the way that I like it best.

If you make your own crust you can add some of the sharpest cheddar you can get into the dough itself. I don’t make my own crust, after trying for years to find a recipe that I can get to come out successfully and I actually like, so I just add it on to the finished pie.

I don’t peel or finely chop my apples for pie, because, honestly, I’m lazy-but both are traditional. I have also started using a round cake tin for my pies after a discovery last fall. My pies hold up better in them.

Cheddar-Apple Pie

2 pie crusts

6-8 apples, mixed types, cored and sliced

3/4 cup raw sugar

2 tablespoons flour

2 table pumpkin pie spice

butter

Cheddar cheese-about 1/2 cup, either shredded or sliced, the sharpest you can find

buttered apples

Preheat oven to 425

Line a pie plate with bottom crust

Add apples, sugar, flour, and pie spice into a bowl, and toss to cover. Fill the pie plate with apple mixture. *Don’t add all the extra sugar mix in the bowl. It doesn’t melt. Dot with butter, about a tablespoon or so.

Cover with top crust, pinch edges closed, and cut slits on top of pie.

Bake for 40 minutes.

Prep your cheese while the pie is in the oven. Pull pie from oven and cover crust with cheese. Return to oven and bake for another 10 minutes.

Remove from heat and allow to cool before cutting.

4 comments

  1. Wow, I love apple pie but must admit I have never had it with cheese. It sounds like a savory sweet must-try! Thank you for stopping by Merry Monday!! Pinning to my personal board.

  2. A marriage made in heaven, Apple and Cheddar, this pie looks awesome! Hope you are having a great week and thanks so much for sharing your great post with Full Plate Thursday.
    Come Back Soon!
    Miz Helen

Leave a Reply

