What’s On My Food Prepping List

what's on my food prepping list

It can be hard to figure out what you need to have in your ‘stockpile’, especially if you’re starting out from scratch.

The easiest way is start is to think about what you normally need-if you absolutely, insistently, will not eat beans, then don’t put them on your list. Remember, start prepping for mundane reasons like bad weather and economic hardship first, and worry about the zombies and SHTF later. Call me overly optimistic, but I’m fairly certain job loss is much more likely than the grid falling.

If you have as many staples as you can built up, you can supplement with fresh dairy and produce.

Then think about your space, and optimize your list in importance by what you can use and can easily store first.

My list, depending on space and sales, in no particular order:

White Sugar

Black Strap Molasses (both can be used separately, and can be used together to make brown sugar)

Coffee

Dried Milk

Canned milks

Shelf stable soy or almond milks

Shelf stable tofu

Beans-canned and dried

Corn-canned and frozen

Peas-frozen, if I have room

Green beans-frozen and canned

Tuna fish or salmon, canned

Tea Bags

Raw sugar, when I can find it under $1.50 a pound

Peanut butter

Oats-not in large quantity, they can go rancid, steel cut and instant. I often get these in the bulk bin

Dried fruits-in the bulk bin

Nuts-in the bulk bin

Baking supplies-baking powder, baking soda, chocolate chips, etc. I get these on the Christmas and Thanksgiving baking sales

Unbleached white flour

Wheat flour-in small amounts for bread

Yeast-I try to have some in the house. but I don’t stockpile it

Shelf stable stocks or stock bases

Stocks-frozen or canned

Canned fruit

Oils-olive, corn, coconut

Garbage bags

Dish soap

Dish rags

Parchment paper (eventually I’ll get some Silpats, but for now, parchment paper)

Tin foil

Plastic wrap (only a box or two, one box lasts me years)

One or two bee’s wax clothes

Paper towels-there are some really nasty tasks I still prefer paper for, like draining bacon

Cleaning rags

Vinegars-white and apple cider

Citrus cleaner-I normally make my own

Salt-table, and whatever other kinds I can find on sale

Canning supplies-have on hand if you know how to can in case you find awesome produce sales

Pastas

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

