The Scariest Movie You’ve Ever Seen

things that go bump in the nightJaws-for sheer impact on my life, Jaws wins hands down. It gave me a strong shark phobia as a kid and Shark Week still freaks me out.

Carpenter’s Pro-Life-part of the Masters of Horror series. If we go by the distinction of ‘movies that still freak you out a few days later’, this is an episode I can’t decide if I want to re-watch or never see again.

The Exorcist-This one only counts as a comparison. I finally worked up the nerve to see the movie and read the book last year. It might have been my training doing me in [I studied horror movies sociologically when I was in school] but I was pretty neutral on both. I can see why the movie that’s consistently rated the scariest thing to ever hit screens scared other people, but I didn’t get much of a reaction out of it.

This week’s open thread: What’s the scariest movie you’ve ever seen?

Leave a Reply

