Clowns and Period Inappropriate Music

things that go bump in the night

I have to admit, this season’s American Horror Story has the creepiest theme/entry of the bunch. I thought that the metallic grinding noises in last season’s entry were bad. I want to watch the opening over and over-it might be the creepiest thing that I’ve seen all fall.

This is the Clive Barker season, but last week’s (I haven’t seen last night’s yet) was totally Hitchcock-all that entry needed was a wig and a butcher’s knife. I can see why people might not like the tone, but there’s a lot of parallels to this season and Barker, circa The Hellbound Heart. A LOT of parallels, and it’s gorgeous to watch.

One of the concerns that was voiced to me prior to the start of the season was that it would end up ablist and I think I can see the concern. I’m not in any position to comment on the other side of the argument-since my issues run to the mental health spectrum and chronic pain, I can’t touch this representation in a way that I was comfortable to with the Paganism in Coven. Cliffnotes: I’m kind of glad that we finally got something to balance out Charmed, since, you know, the Dark Mother and balance and all. I will say that while there’s a lot of problematic issues (same as there always is, this is AHS we’re talking about here), the characters seem to be pretty self-aware of what’s going on around them. The way that Pepper ties back to Season 2 and her comments in that season about ‘freaks in normal society’ are telling as well. I’m not saying this is a perfect representation, but the characters seem to know where they stand in the rest of society.

I do hope that the assault in the first episode theme doesn’t end up a running thing with AHS. I don’t think it’s too radical a spoiler; it takes place within the first fifteen minutes of the first episode of the season. Even with some of the person issues in my past, I’m okay the plot necessary assault-it was in Coven, I’m not sure it was in Asylum and the plot of Monster House wouldn’t exist at all without it. I’m just not sure that Freashow is carrying that forward.

I’m greatly amused with some of the characterizations in this season-there’s a fan fiction type story in an anthology about the Hellbound Heart that has a woman ending up in Hell, very, very glad to see the Cenobites. A little too glad to see the Cenobites…better to rule in Hell? That’s what I kept thinking during last week’s episode. If you can’t beat them, join them?

This season doesn’t seem to be quite as meta as the last three, but it’s there, to a point. I wish they would back off of the Browning influence slightly, I swear I’m waiting for the troupe to start screaming ‘One of us! One of us!’ Also…what the hells is up with the completely inappropriate music? It’s actually pretty damn jarring. I’m not sure what’s going on there. Either drop that music or add in something else that blatantly anachronistic.

Leave a Reply

