Skadi

skadi jacob 2

Just for something different, I actually ran a poll online to name this yarn.

Skadi was the winner. Skadi is a Norse giantess and goddess associated with skiing, winter, mountains and hunting.

I have a tendency to let myself buy undyed fiber. It tends to be cheaper per ounce (quality and breed dependent) and I can then dye it, spin it, and knit with it-I get more ‘usage’ out of it than pre-dyed fiber. Though I can’t resist good sock fiber.

I don’t however own a good white, work appropriate sweater anymore and all of my sweater projects for the last few years have ended up hibernating somewhere.

skadi jacob 1

With any luck, Skadi will eventually end up a mixed breed, white, slightly textured and maybe cabled sweater. Probably a men’s pattern, so I don’t have to worry about fit over other clothes and wearing my sweater tighter than comfort at work.

This is the first ball of the Jacob fiber I bought at Rhinebeck. I still have half the Jacob left to spin so I don’t have yardage or WPI yet. This handsome fellow is a Jacob ram-

photo by David Merrett

photo by David Merrett

Bloggers-I have started a new group board on Pinterest. Open to all DIY, craft, food, or other creative blogs, I would love to have you join. Joining instructions are posted on the board-join here.

Please, stop by this week’s Inspired Weekends (Friday)  and  Fall into the Holidays (Tuesdays)

Linked to-

be different act normal

lil suburban homestead

Leave a Reply

