The Taking of Deborah Logan (2014)

things that go bump in the night

I have a soft spot in my heart for non-traditional possession films, even if they had to go the found footage route.

I’m serious. Time to move onto another technique…or I’m going to make a found footage film of a horror reviewer slowly loosing her mind over an over-used and not particularly compelling genre.

However, this was actually a pretty creepy film. The Taking of Deborah Logan looks like a basic possession style film on the surface-but there are some plot twists that take this in a pretty odd direction, pretty quickly. That said, it’s still a fairly straight forward found footage movie with the traditional jump scares that you would assume would be in a movie like this.

I did appreciate the film makers not going in the traditional black robes and holy water direction with the plot. There’s some detailing that I’m not sure are supposed to be surprises-or if I just happened to miss them earlier. Some of the assumptions that I -think- the viewer is supposed to make are pretty weak, but nothing that really drags the movie down too much. There is one issue I have with the plot, and that’s less of a plot hole as much as it is a suspension of disbelief concern.

This isn’t the most solid possession piece you could watch, and my dislike of found footage colors most every movie I watch in this genre. But I enjoyed this one more than I thought I would (and I’m interested to know if the ending is a nod to the plot continuing after the end of the film).

 

Leave a Reply

