Holiday Ribbon Art

I’m absolutely terrible with paper art. If there’s no sheep involved, I’m probably mediocre at best.

I’m also a terrible photographer-and my hand tremors combined with an energy drink doesn’t help.

When I get my tree up and my apartment decorated, I’ll get the Nikon out and take better photos. Or have Mid do it for me.

But for all the flaws and all the terrible photos, I really, really love how this came out.

This is also a fairly inexpensive holiday craft that’s very kid-friendly. Just have an adult cut out the shape and the ribbon. I got all of the materials at the dollar store, with the exception of the ribbon-that came from Walmart. I’m sure you could do this as a complete dollar store craft though. Just get the heaviest paper you can. I used photo paper because that’s what they had, but use card stock if you can find it. Stiffer paper makes it easier to cut out.

I got the idea for this craft from According to Matt, who did this in summer colors but I knew I wanted to do this as a winter/Yule/Christmas decoration in my tree colors.

Holiday Ribbon Art

2 (or more) pieces very heavy paper (photo paper, card stock, etc)

Glue Sticks

Cutter Cutter in Christmas theme (I used a star)

1 8.5 x 11 frame, or sized to your paper

Ribbon, assorted colors. Any width is fine

Scissors

 

On the back of one of your pieces of paper, trace your cookie cutter. Carefully cut out your shape (I wasn’t as careful as I should have been, but I have this weird superstition about leaving flaws in my work. You may want to have extra paper on hand if you’re more detail oriented than I am).

Place your cut paper over your bottom piece of paper, and mark the edges of the cut out. Your ribbon needs to cover to at least those marks. You can ribbon the entire paper if you want, but for the sake of speed and materials, I just covered a rectangle slightly larger than my star. Tack the ribbon down the the glue stick. The frame will help hold the paper together, but it needs to be down enough that the ribbon won’t move while framing.

You cut the shape out on the back so that the ink marks won’t show. Run the glue stick around that side of the paper and glue the cut sheet to the ribboned sheet so the ribbon shows through.

 

Place your shape into the frame, and hang. I used a piece of ribbon tied through metal hanger on the back to hang the art. The ribbon colors match my tree.

 

Bloggers-I have started a new group board on Pinterest. Open to all DIY, craft, food, or other creative blogs, I would love to have you join. Joining instructions are posted on the board-join here.

Please, stop by this week’s Inspired Weekends (Friday)  and  Fall into the Holidays (Tuesdays)

Linked to-

a pinch of joy

the chicken chick     the prairie homestead

clairejustine

i should be mopping the floor

jembellish

sew can do

frugal by choice

vmg206

6 comments

  1. What a great idea, such a simple idea that could be used throughout the year for different seasonal decorations, as well as cards for people. Dropping in from Creative Monday.

  2. Lovely! I might use this method to make Christmas Cards. You’re tree is beautiful too! If you’re looking for another place to share your projects, I would love to have you stop by Etcetorize and join our Make it Monday party. It’s open now 🙂

Leave a Reply

