The Monkey’s Paw (2013)

things that go bump in the night

I’m not surprised at all that Twisty the Clown is the current fan favorite of AHS season four.

We have a motivation for what he’s doing, and frankly, it’s pretty sympathetic. I mean, that poor man. I’m not advocating going on a murder spree, but I can certainly see why he’s doing what he’s doing.

I have the same reaction to Cobb in this version of The Monkey’s Paw. This honestly is a pretty terrible retelling of this story-why do only half the characters in this film have terribly overblown accents, and why are only lower class characters portrayed like this? At least the film with obeah and not voodoo this time around. I’m really not sure why you’re messing with this story. The Monkey’s Paw is pretty terrifying just with a true retelling. And why are we getting random character details like ‘you married your AA sponsor’? The whole thing baffles me.

I doubt that I’m supposed to find Cobb all that sympathetic, just from the way that the script is framed. But seriously, if life did all this to me-including what our cement head of a male lead is up to-I’d probably end up in the same place. Whatever Cobb’s faults are, he’s pretty blunt with his motivations are after the events that made him as he is come about: go fishing with his son, and then die. I feel like this is pretty simple. Maybe we’re supposed to think that he’s unstable the entire film (I mean, why can’t he take his kid fishing anyway? Something already had to be wrong, right?) but this is pretty high up there in terms of ‘how to make a villain’s motivations seem pretty reasonable, all things considered’. Add in that whole lack of a soul thing, which is probably going to alter one’s personality slightly, and we have a situation where I’m sort of glad the ending messes with the male lead the way that it does.

Leave a Reply

