Cinnamon Sugar Breakfast Skillet Bread

 

There were a lot of minor oddities that went into this bread.

Like how I got myself convinced that cast iron is a highly reflective surface, and all of my photos went on the Internet with my not blog worthy reflection embedded in them like one of those old ‘when you see it you’ll @#$% bricks’ memes.

…Cast iron is generally not recommended as a mirrored surface, by the way. Just in case you were concerned.

At least it went better than last weekend, when I somehow managed to brand myself on the hot skillet-in between my fingers. No, not on the back of my hand or my arms where you would think. I’m sporting a slowly fading bright purple scar between my fingers.

And then I forgot to watermark these photos. Also, bread photography-not terribly compelling. In fact, not compelling at all.

I need to be protected from myself.

Cinnamon Sugar Breakfast Skillet Bread

Not a donut, probably not all that better for you than a baked donut-but we’ll pretend. A sweeter version of the skillet vegetable focaccia.

2 cups flour

1/4 cup honey (I used raw left over from an orange-cranberry ferment)

1 1/2 teaspoons active yeast (not the instant kind)

1/2 teaspoons salt

2 tablespoons olive oil

3/4 cup hot out of the tap water

2 teaspoons ground cinnamon

1 cast  iron skillet

Topping

cinnamon

sugar

vanilla extract

something sticky for brushing the bread-I used more oil, but you could use melted butter, maple syrup, more honey, cider molasses, etc.

*The topping crumble is not measured out for a reason

 

Preheat oven to 220.

In the bowl of a stand mixer set with a dough hook, add warm water. Add honey and mix until dissolved. Add yeast, and let proof for five minutes or until foamy and slightly beery smelling.

Add one cup of flour, cinnamon, and salt, mix until combined.

(I turned off the oven here, and left the door closed).

Add about 3/4 of the of rest of the flour, and the oil. Scrap down the sides of the bowl and mix until the dough starts to pull away from the sides of the bowl.

Using the reserved 1/4 cup of flour, shape the dough into a ball.

Coat the skillet with olive oil (may not be necessary if your skillet is really well seasoned) and place dough ball into pan. Stretch to fit the skillet.

Place it the warm, not running, oven for 20 minutes.

While the dough is rising, mix your crumble: In a small bowl add a little bit of cinnamon and some sugar. Make a little, make a lot-if you’re one of those people who really loves the top of coffee cake, make a huge amount. Add just enough vanilla extract to dampen the crumble. You don’t want it at the wet sand stage, so stop just before that.

Remove the skillet and preheat oven to 400.

Poke holes into the proofed dough with your finger.

Drizzle dough with oil, then spoon crumble over the top of the dough.

Bake at 400 for 20 minutes.

Bloggers-I have started a new group board on Pinterest. Open to all DIY, craft, food, or other creative blogs, I would love to have you join. Joining instructions are posted on the board-join here.

Please, stop by this week’s Inspired Weekends (Friday)  and  Fall into the Holidays (Tuesdays)

Linked to-

the chicken chick

create with joy     clairejustine

i should be mopping the floor

vmg206

carolyns homework

the homesteading hippy

 

6 comments

Leave a Reply

