Glazed Lemon Cake

Always feel free to submit a guest entry! Especially during thematic months-and you don’t need to be a full time blogger!

My friend Victoria got stuck in the Snowvember Storm-and baked a cake!

Hi there! I’m Victoria.

You may have heard about the massive snowstorm that hit parts of Buffalo starting Monday, November 17th. At the time of writing this it is Saturday, November 22nd and I’ve been snowed in for 5 days. The roads in my neighborhood are impassable. So much snow has fallen that we can’t even plow, the snow needs to be physically removed from the streets.

My fiancée and I did manage to find our way out of the house on Thursday. We walked down the road to see if we could find anything open. We managed to find a convenience store and, as is Buffalo tradition, a pizza place. Of course we made our way in to order a pizza. The wait was only 30 minutes and it’s not like we had anything else to do.

Other than the brief adventure for pizza I’ve been passing the time by sleeping, watching TV, reading, playing video games, and of course, baking. Lately I’ve been craving Katie’s glazed orange cake. Unfortunately we don’t have any oranges or orange juice in the house. However, I did have everything else I needed, along with some lemons. So I decided to tweak the recipe a bit and try a glazed lemon cake. The only changes I made we replacing the orange juice with fresh lemon juice, and replacing the vanilla with some almond extract. I was a bit short on lemon juice as I only had two lemons on hand, so I the juice from one and a half of the lemons in the cake mix. I used the juice from the half left over (along with a little bit of lemon extract and some water) for the glaze. Here’s what I ended up with.

Because there’s less juice in the batter, this cake comes out a bit more dry than the orange cake. I love all kinds of citrus, so the lemon in this cake really hit the spot. The almond extract adds something extra. The flavor reminds me of a lemon macaroon. My only regret is that I have nobody to share it with – it will be gone before we dig out!

Glazed Lemon Cake

  • 1 stick butter

  • 1 cup sugar

  • 2 eggs

  • 1 cup plain yogurt

  • Juice of 1.5-2 lemons (just under ¼ cup)

  • 2 teaspoon almond extract

  • 1 1/2 cup flour

  • 1 teaspoon orange zest

  • 1 3/4 teaspoon baking powder

  • 1/2 teaspoon salt

Glaze

  • 1 cup powdered sugar

  • large pinch lemon zest

  • Juice of ½ lemon

  • ¼ tsp lemon extract

  • water

Preheat oven to 350. Line a loaf pan with parchment paper. Mix together the flour, orange zest, baking powder, and salt. In a separate bowl cream together butter and sugar. Add yogurt and almond extract until just mixed. Add eggs one at a time, beating until mixed. Mix in lemon juice. Add dry ingredients, beat carefully until combined. Add batter to your lined pan and bake for 50-65 minutes.

Let the cake cool and remove from pan. Mix together the powdered sugar, lemon zest, lemon juice, and lemon extract. Add water if needed to obtain desired consistency for the glaze. Pour over the cake and let harden a bit.

Enjoy!

baking

2 comments

Leave a Reply

