The 100 Year Old Cake

100 year yellow cake

[I thought that I photographed this recipe. Apparently I didn’t. That will be addressed later.]

I’m tempted to call this the cursed cake.

I tried getting this cake made for a year. Every time something happened.

It started with last year’s round of 31 Days of Baking. This was the cake that I was making when my oven burned out. Then it was a series of missteps up until I finally got it out of the oven, including walking into my kitchen and found that my stove top had gotten warm enough that my butter was sitting in a puddle of oil.

This cake has been slowly wandering around the Internet, but I found it via Food for a Hungry Soul. Lore has it that it’s a 100 year old recipe.

Group 1:

2 cups flour

1 1/4 cup sugar

1 tablespoon baking powder

1 tea salt

Group 2:

1 stick butter, softened

1 tea vanilla

1 cup milk

Group 3:

2 eggs

 

Pre-heat oven to 350.

 

Add group one to a bowl and mix.

Add group two and beat for 2 minutes.

Add group three and beat for 2 minutes.

 

Place in a 13×9 pan and bake for 30-35 minutes.

baking

2 comments

Leave a Reply

