Baking the Bacon

bacon-31754_1280

I guess that this is an entry in the Pinterest series? I’ve seen this suggestion everywhere, so I guess it works.

I hate cooking bacon. I hate how long it takes, how much it spits, and how I have to sit around and babysit it. I don’t mind greasy bacon, so when I found suggestions to just bake your bacon on a lined cookie sheet, I thought I would try it.

A lot of the original posts talked about using tin foil on a cookie sheet. I lined a deep lipped 13×9 baking pan with tin foil leaving the edges sort of poking up. I split up my bacon into chunks and put it into an oven preheated to 375. I checked and flipped it at the 10 minute mark, noticed that it wasn’t crisping at all, and upped the temperature to 400.

I ended up being happy with it at the 30 minute mark, checking on it every ten minutes. My oven didn’t start smoking, so I’m assuming that the pan caught most of the splatters.

The bacon wasn’t nearly as crispy, but I was satisfied with the outcome.

So shorthand:

Preheat oven to 375.

Put bacon into a 13×9 pan lined with foil, leaving the edges tented up to help catch the splatters.

Bake, checking and flipping the bacon every 10 minutes to make sure it doesn’t scorch. Stay close to your oven and check more frequently if it seems to be smoking-don’t leave completely unintended in case of grease fires, same as any other bacon cooking method.

Increase temperature to no more than 400 if it doesn’t seem to want to brown and crisp.

Remove from oven, and drain same as stove top bacon.

One comment

  1. I bake it at 375 on parchment paper. I used to use foil but it would stick sometimes. I usually turn it once when it just starts to brown and then finish it up once flipped over. It will burn fast though, at the end you have watch it close!! I hate cooking bacon as well, and learned how to do it in the oven after I helped start a cafe many years ago. Great post!!

Leave a Reply

