My Winter Beauty Routine-2015

day box

I’m on a roll!

Actually it’s sort of a weird roll. If you’re the type of person who has always known that they’re attractive, or had people act like you’re attractive-there’s a certain amount of attention that you get that I think that you eventually get used to, and you don’t notice it anymore.

I’m not trying to sound bitter. I’m trying to sound bewildered because somehow in the last seven days I’ve started getting a ton of attention that I’ve never really gotten before. I’m either a very late bloomer or I’ve finally found the routine that works for me. It’s disconcerting to suddenly be told you look like a Rembrandt painting.

What I’m saying is that if you go through life sort of invisible and then walk into a room and everyone is looking at you, you have to get used to it.

Anyway.

This is my routine-

-Water. Water water water. Water. Drink lots and lots of water. Or lots and lots of something anyway, get a lot of fluid into your system.

-I start out with a layer of moisturizer. I use Ponds or a Ponds knock off now, I feel like it stands up to my skin better.

-I put on a mid-weight layer of Tarte’s Amazonian Clay foundation in Beige

-If I have time, I dust with E.L.F’s color correcting powder.

-I prime my eyelids with Monistat chafing gel. You read that right. It’s the best eyeshadow primer I’ve ever used.

-Then comes mascara-dark brown or black, both sets of lashes. I like Sephora’s basic mascara but honestly lately I’ve been using an ELF Pro and a LA Colors because I haven’t had time to get to the mall.

-My base eye color is the lightest shade from a Physician’s Formula palette called Baked Butter. Then a mid tone neutral.

-Sometimes I use a liquid eyeliner pen in black. Most of the time I can’t be bothered to deal with it.

-Lip color is Vaseline lip treatment under a pink-brown or pink balm stick. If I’m feeling really peppy I wear a Wet and Wild lipstick in Stoplight Red.

-I do use facial wipes. Ahem. I know, not frugal or green but I won’t wash off my make up otherwise. At night I use another layer of Ponds.

The biggest shift in my routine away from last year is this:

purpleI wasn’t veiling full time last winter. I started wrapping full time in public around June, and it has impacted my beauty routine.

(Also, how awesome is that scarf?)

If I’m wearing an intense wrap, especially with an Israeli tie or very long tails, I’m not going to put a lot of color next to my face.

That pashima is stunning-it’s pinky-purple that shifts to teal in the middle and it’s sparkly. That’s already a LOT of color right there in your face.

So my face is full-but-nude-my eyeshadow is slightly darker than my skin tone, full coverage foundation, and an ELF lip color called natural.

With a crown tichel or something in a less intense color I go for more color in my face.

Leave a Reply

