Age of More Brass and Lots of Steam

morebrassandsteammorebrassI can’t believe I never got around to posting this project.

These pictures actually date to Knife. However, this year has been so snowy that it doesn’t make a difference, and I wear this project all the time now.

One of the joys of being a veiled knitter in a snow belt is that there’s no such thing as a ‘too small’ shawl. If you can get it tied to your head, it becomes a winter weight wrap.

I was warned that this pattern knits up small, so I kept adding reps until I got bored. And the warning was right- it’s barely kerchief sized with the extra reps. But, I even said while knitting it that too small just means new wrap-so that’s what this is used for, to good reception.

I love this yarn, but it has a reputation for being a brat. I don’t get it. It’s a roving style slightly thick or thin yarn. I’m not gentle on my yarns at all and I still don’t have the problems that people claim to have with it (and I use it all the time). Just don’t yank on it with every stitch and be aware that it’s not tightly spun while pulling work out and you’ll be fine.

Yarn: Red Heart Unforgettable in Stained Glass, roughly 1 1/2 skeins

Needles: size 7

Pattern: The Age of Brass and Steam

Mods: Added extra pattern reps

One comment

Leave a Reply

