Orange Cookies

firstlake

I  made these cookies a couple of weeks ago during one of my rare weekends off from work.

I love the flavor of citrus, especially during spring. I know that citrus is a winter crop, but there’s something about orange that makes me think of the light coming back and increasing warmth.

Buffalo seems to be holding out okay through the thaw-the city is having a spat of terrible roofing issues because of the combination of the never ending snow and the cold. There were concerns about widespread flooding, but it doesn’t seem to be leaning that direction.

I have started walking outside again but I fear that with that I may be overeager. I’m still having to dodge snow banks and black ice, but the need to not be indoors is stronger than any sidewalk self preservation instinct I might have.

These cookies are pretty amazing. They’re fluffy, and sweet, and decently orange but not, like, orange popsicle overpowering. I used tangelos but I’m dreaming of a version with lemon and raspberries and white chocolate chips.

*These are supposed to be glazed but we ate them so quickly the batch never made it that far.

Orange Cookies-from Taste of Home

1 cup butter, softened

1 1/2 cup sugar

1 cup buttermilk

3 eggs

2/3 cup orange juice

4 1/2 tea orange zest

3 to 4 cups flour

1 teaspoon baking soda

1 teaspoon baking powder

Cream the sugar and the butter. I added the zest to the sugar since I used fresh; if you use dried, add it as a dry ingredient later.

Add the eggs, milk, and juice.  Mix well.

Starting with 3 cups flour, add the rest. Mix well. You want a stiffish dough but it doesn’t have to be terribly tight, you’re going to chill the dough.

Chill the dough for at least an hour (the butter needs to solidify so the cookies will hold their shape).

Preheat oven to 375.

Drop about 2 inches apart on cookie tray, and bake for 10 minutes.

One comment

  1. I bet these cookies are good! I like the taste of citrus too, it’s so refreshing. I hope you guys made it through all that snow ok. It was like it wasn’t going to end!

Leave a Reply

