Beauty Babble-3/16

I hate these frames and the lenses never stay clean for more than 30 seconds. I can't wait to replace them.

I hate these frames and the lenses never stay clean for more than 30 seconds. I can’t wait to replace them.

The most selfie selfie that has ever selfied. But it feels weird to post one of these without a photo now.

Empties and Purges

Clean and Clear Morning Burst scrub-finally made it through the travel size I bought last month. I’m surprised it lasted as long as it did. I replaced it with a diy scrub for the sake of holding to my low buy. Empty

Paintbox Soapbox Blackbird, sample size-I love this scrub. I want a full sized version at some point. I need to work down the rest of my scrub stash, and I have piles of BPAL that I can use for scrubs so it might be awhile first. Empty

Notes- “Deep & heady & a little bit wild, Blackbird blends herbaceous lavender with dark resins, sweet tonka bean & musk, & an earthy bite of clary sage & patchouli.”

Purchases

purchase314

ELF white label blush, Innocent/Innocence-I don’t remember the actual name of this blush. I am on a cosmetic low buy, and am bribing myself with cosmetics to exercise. It turns out that this is combination is good for me, but I’m willing enough to exercise for eyeshadow that I was actually still purchasing it at the same rate I was prior. I’ve shifted the bribe to every four days worth of exercise instead of three.

So this was my only purchase this week. I didn’t own a blusher prior.

Reviews and Impressions

(What I think about recent purchases)

Wet and Wild Just Peachy lipstick-I don’t know. It’s very patchy and the formula looks weird on my skin. The rest of the line doesn’t seem to do this, and it doesn’t matter what state my lips are in prior. But I love the color. I might keep it until I can find another brand in a similar color with a better formula.

ELF white label blush, Innocent/Innocence-I bought this as my exercise bribe this week. I don’t have a lot (read: any) experience with blush, so I went with a low grade lighter shade just to practice/see if I even like the look.

My curse of buying colors that are -the exact shade of my skin- strikes again. I do this with neutral eye shadows all the time. This shade is about half a shade lighter than the pink of my skin through my foundation. So…I can’t actually comment on the quality/pigmentation because I know it’s doing something, I look less like a corpse in photos-but that’s about it. I’m using it as eyeshadow as well and I do like it that way.

Pond’s BB Cream-I keep reaching for this one so I must like it. But I don’t like the scent and I’m not seeing a huge difference over my normal bare skin (I’m aware that it’s an American BB and therefore there’s not going to be a huge shift).

Wet and Wild Fergie Take on the Day Primer-I love this primer. I totally get the hype now. I know that eye shadows should be fine on their own, but I am getting so much better function out of my really cheap shadows that I’ve been hoarding with this primer. My problems really have been that it turns out that I really do prefer grippy, not slippery, primers. I want to try the shimmer one now.

Elf smudge pot, Cruising Chic- Again with the buying products the color of my skin. I love this product though, it goes on so much more smoothly than Color Tattoos. This is the only color I’ve managed to find outside of Walmart, which angers me because I love it but I want one that’s either much darker or lighter than this one, because it really does blend into my skin.

Panning Project

panning314*Photo is filtered with terrible lighting, but I’m not going for color accuracy with these photos*

I’m not going to set myself up for failure; I don’t think that I’m going to be able to pan anything other than the BB or the moisturizer.

I’m aiming to use as much of these as I can before the end of the year. For the palettes there are specific colors I’m attempting to use the most-the second lightest nude in the four pan is the color I’ve been using as a transition shade and the white in the second shade is the color I’ve been using as a colored shadow base.

The only product that I would say that I’m actually unhappy with and might give me problems is that lip balm. Some days I love it, some days I hate it. It’s the only product I dream of replacing for the sake of replacing it and not because I just want more options. Even the under performing blush doesn’t bother me as much as that lip balm.

Leave a Reply

