Pumpkin Bread with Whiskey and Raisins

316

I understand the point of seasonal cooking.

I also understand that if I’m working only with the seasonal food available at this time of the year, I’m going to be eating a healthy well rounded diet of rock salt and pot holes.

One of the joys of home food preservation is the ability to still eat local (or localish) and be out of season. I have bags of pumpkin in the freezer, and I love pumpkin year round. I’m not one to limit a flavor to one season or another.

I bought raisins months ago with the intention of making soul cakes but never got that far. I melt my butter with the coffee when I make recipes like this, so I just dumped my dried out raisins in that pot to let them plump up again a little.

Note:

I used a Pyrex baking pan and it took forever to bake because everything takes forever to bake in that pan. I think I finally pulled it at the 1 1/2 hour mark.

Pumpkin bread with whiskey and raisins (modified slightly from Simply Recipes)

1 1/2 cup flour

1 cup sugar

1 cup pumpkin puree

1/2 shot whiskey

1 tea baking soda

1 tablespoon pumpkin spice

2 eggs

1/4 cup hot coffee

1 stick butter, melted

2 tea molasses

1/2 cup raisins

1/2 cup mini chocolate chips

 

Preheat oven to 350

Mix all wet (sugar, eggs, molasses, butter, coffee, pumpkin, whiskey)

Mix all dry excluding raisins and chocolate

Mix both together till just combined

Add chocolate and raisins

Place into a 9×5 bread pan

Bake 45-60 minutes

Leave a Reply

