Fire Pickles

firepickles

I’m working towards finding the perfect sweet pickle brine.

This brine recipe, adapted from a Taste of Home bread and butter pickle recipe, is closer to what I’ve tried so far. I love dill pickles but I actually crave sweet pickles when I have pickle cravings.

These pickles are the result of a though experiment-witch’s brew is essentially just aromatics in vinegar, and pickles are vegetables in vinegar, so I wonder what happens when you merge the two?

*I cannot comment to the safety of these pickles as a canned recipe. I make these as a fridge pickle. The upside of making them as a fridge pickle is that they are much more adjustable- add more or less salt (or leave it out entirely), adjust the sugar level, change the vinegar, adjust how many aromatics you use.

Fire Pickles

Aromatics list: mix and match; peel and finely slice or grate roots, onions should be chopped. Spices/herbs-I just eyeball them, up to about a tablespoon each

turmeric

tamarind

garlic

ginger

hot peppers (handful) (the hottest you can find, the point is to have a hot infusion)

mint

cilantro

1 onion

cinnamon

horseradish

radishes

wasabi

cayenne pepper

-Raw- honey (optional)

Pickling spice

Vegetables

Use whatever you like, is on sale, or is in season-I’ve done batches with cucumbers, squash, carrots, onions, radishes, peppers, garlic, and summer squash. Chop thinly and as uniformly as possible.

Brine

2 cups vinegar

1 cup water

2 cups sugar

1 tablespoon or so canning salt

 

Place all aromatics and vegetables into a large jar (I use a half gallon Ball jar). Heat brine to boiling on stovetop; let cool slightly and then add to jar to cover (1 batch fills my jar with the vegetables added-adjust up or down to fit batch size). Cool slightly and place in fridge.

A batch should hold for about two weeks.

One comment

Leave a Reply

