Pineapple Freezer Salsa

pineapple-636562_1280

My favorite salsa style is sweet and hot. With zucchini.

Not quite how my dad makes it-he makes it, ahem, hellishly hot with the zucchini. But I got into sweet salsa somewhere around grad school.

I decided to put up some sweet salsa but it turns out that you can either have a pretty much nothing but fruit salsa or a tomato salsa but there’s not much in the way of a fruit/tomato salsa in existence in tested recipe land (if you know of one, kindly send me in the right direction-books are more than fine). This is what happened when it finally hit me that I could just freeze a fruit salsa and still have a relatively shelf stable product without worrying about acid levels.

I used the blender salsa recipe in Preserving by the Pint as my starting point and went from there.

I swear it only rains when I need a photo.

I swear it only rains when I need a photo.

Notes:

This is NOT a tested, canning safe recipe. While I started with a base of a canning recipe, I severely altered the low/high acid ratio and can’t guarantee safety. Fridge or freezer only.

You can play around with what fruit you want, more onions to pepper, pepper to onion, what hot peppers you use or not. Add corn, or any other freezer happy vegetables.

You can either run the salsa through the blender or use an immersion blender after it cooks down.

I don’t peel my tomatoes because they’ll be blended, but if you want, peel before.

The straight sided jelly jars are considered freezer safe. Make sure to leave expansion room, but freeze away.

Pineapple Freezer Salsa

1 pound tomatoes (Romas or heirlooms are both lovely)

1 pound cored pineapple, chopped (or 2 cups crushed canned, with juice)

1/2 cup chopped onion

1 chopped bell pepper

2 superhot peppers like habenaros, birds eyes, scorpions, or others (see notes)

1 1/2 tea cayenne pepper

2 cloves garlic, chopped

1/4 cup packed brown sugar (optional)

1/4 cup bottled lime juice

Bring all to a boil then simmer for 20-30 minutes, or until soft and slightly thickened.

[See notes for blending instructions]

Cool to room temperature, pack into freezer containers, and freeze.

 

This is NOT a tested, canning safe recipe. While I started with a base of a canning recipe, I severely altered the low/high acid ratio and can’t guarantee safety. Fridge or freezer only.

Leave a Reply

