Produce Box Relish 2-Rosemary Green Bean

rosemary green bean relishThis was a weird project.

I had no intention to can. But I found myself standing over a brine with a canner going sort of out of instinct.

I spent about three hours wandering around Buffalo looking for table scrims for a wedding that Mid is djing only to have him come home and order them on Amazon.

‘But you had fun, right?!’

…It wasn’t exactly rage canning. Comfort canning, I guess?

This batch is green beans, onions, and a zucchini. Zucchini and summer squash is generally on the no-can list, but it can be safely chopped and acidified-like for a relish.

This batch is flavored with garlic and rosemary. I’m starting to step out of my canning comfort zone, flavorwise. I like the flavor of onion with rosemary, Google says that it’s good with green beans, and zucchini is pretty much a blank slate. I’m not bored with canning or pickles, but ACV is getting a little too comfortable, a little too much like the old friend you default to instead of having to try to make friends. Nice, enjoyable, ultimately satisfying, but you’re left wondering what else there might be out there.

So break out the red wine vinegar. As long as your vinegar is at the 5% acidity mark and the flavors work well for whatever you’re doing, go for it.

Notes:

I decided to go for very much so not sweet on this round. Up the sugar if you would like.

1 small onion, a zucchini, and a handful of floppy green beans gave me about 3 cups of produce.

This batch gave me 1 pint jar and a half pint jar, with a little bit of brine and a couple of tablespoons of relish left over. However going forward if I use zucchini I will be canning in half pints just to ensure it’s okay with the density.

Rosemary Green Bean Relish

3-3 1/2 cups chopped vegetables-onion, green bean, zucchini [if canning with zucchini, please can in half pints]

2 cups red wine vinegar

2 tablespoons sugar

1 teaspoon salt

1 teaspoon dried rosemary

1 teaspoon powdered garlic

Prep your water bath canner (at least 3 half pints or a half pint and a pint jar)

Combine all relish ingredients in a pot; simmer 8-10 minutes or until reduced to desired consistency.

Process 15 minutes.

One comment

Leave a Reply

