Dilly Beans

dilly beans

I don’t have a formal photo for this recipe because this post is more to define the concept of a dilly bean than it was oh, I have a new project for the blog.

I had a conversation on Friday wherein someone asked me to can quarts of dilly beans, because while she had her own full rig, she felt that she didn’t have the time. Someone interrupted the back and forth to comment that they couldn’t fathom why we were canning jelly beans-the concept of a dilly bean was so foreign that the word ‘dilly’ wasn’t registering correctly.

This is not the first time that these have made an appearance on HK-I mentioned them years ago on my basic pickling post. A dilly bean is a green bean that’s pickled with a heavy handed dash of dill seed and hot pepper, though like most things, you can easily adjust seasoning to your tastes.

Note:

I unfortunately don’t have a solid feel for weights and outputs. The brine recipe is written for 3 pints, which two of the flats of green beans from Aldis gives me with some beans left over.

I’ve been using my own hot peppers (and my dad’s) but crushed red pepper, or even a fresh hot chili, is acceptable.

Dilly Beans (Brine for 3 pints)

3 cups apple cider vinegar

1 cup water

2 tablespoons canning salt

1 tablespoons sugar

Per Jar:

1 tablespoon pickling spice (I’m currently using Penzey’s, use what you prefer)

1 tablespoon dried hot peppers

1-2 cloves garlic, or 1/2-1 tablespoon dried garlic

Bring a water bath to boiling, along with jars (see Ball for basic canning instructions)

Bring brine to boil, omitting spices. Boil for 5 minutes.

Adding spices to bottom of jar, raw pack the beans tightly. Fill with brine to within 1/2 inch of top of jar.

Process pints for 10 minutes.

 

One comment

  1. Great recipe for Dilly Beans! Thanks so much for sharing your awesome recipe with Full Plate Thursday and come back real soon.
    Have a great day,
    Miz Helen

Leave a Reply

