Sweet and Spicy Tuna Fish

sweet and spicy tuna

There’s a lot of really good reasons to not eat tuna, and I do restrict my consumption.

But I also have a lot of issues getting enough protein into my diet and tuna is one of the forms of meat I can seem to fit into my diet easily. I love those little packages of the sweet and spicy tuna the best. I love them stirred into ramen (no, seriously, don’t judge, there are times that’s the only way I can myself to eat at work-I’m weird like that).

Those little packs are expensive enough though that I don’t like spending the cash, so I decided to try to hack the recipe. This isn’t a perfect fit, but it’s adjustable to taste (and cheaper).

Sweet and Spicy Tuna Fish

1 can tuna in water, drained

1 tablespoon oil

1 teaspoon to 1 tablespoon sugar (start light and taste, then adjust)

1 teaspoon to 1/2 tablespoon cayenne pepper (again, start light then adjust)

salt (optional, to taste)

Mix together and taste. I know 1/2 table is a lot of cayenne for most people but I sometimes like my food screamingly hot.

I also have a habit of not actually measuring my cayenne…so a really good sized shake.

I also mix frozen vegetables and pickles into my tuna for a fuller meal.

One comment

  1. What a different recipe for Tuna and it looks great. Thanks so much for sharing your awesome recipe with Full Plate Thursday and come back real soon.
    Have a great day,
    Miz Helen

Leave a Reply

