Tomato Butter

Tomato Butter Version 1

My canning board on Pinterest is full of recipes that I think look interesting, which I end up using as a springboard for future projects. Ones that I can tell are pretty safe will be canned; the rest will end up freezer or fridge recipes. Not a big deal.

I have a real problem with long term patience if I don’t have a project in mind. I’ve been buying a handful of tomatoes every time I do groceries, chop them, and put them in the freezer for canning projects that require cooked tomatoes like sauce or salsa. I managed to work up to about three pounds of chopped tomatoes.

I saw a recipe for tomato butter, and tomatoes are a fruit. Tomato butter seemed, for whatever reason, to be an easier task than ketchup (probably because I’m well familiar with butters).

I thawed out my tomatoes, and stuck them over medium-low with a shot of whiskey to keep them from scorching. I stirred in sort-of traditional ketchup spices-a half teaspoon each cinnamon, chili powder, cayenne, and mustard seed along with a dash of cloves and half a cup of sugar. I threw in some balsamic to balance the flavor. I did my normal cook down and attack with a potato masher.

I have no idea if it’s a canning safe recipe so I just froze it.

Note:

Half a cup of sugar ended up being way too much for 3 pounds of tomatoes, for the butter to be a ketchup stand in. It’s definitely headed into the jam territory. So for the next batch, either way more tomatoes or way less sugar. It’s a learning curve.

The sweetness did pull back a little with a few days sitting time.

2 comments

Leave a Reply

