Crushed Tomatoes

canning crushed tomatoes final

I’m not sure I’ve talked about how to actually can just straight up tomatoes.

Maybe I have, but it’s been a couple of summers since I’ve done any serious tomato canning so I’ll recover the same ground in case that I haven’t.

I have started to can the majority of my tomatoes as crushed style. I like the slightly chunky bits for salsa base, and I like the way they work in stews and soups. You could also open the jars and continue to cook them down for tomato butter if you wanted.

Notes:

Home canned tomatoes tend to run more acidic tasting than the store bought. People like to can tomatoes at home to avoid the added sugars-but the added sugars are what is helping to mask that bite. Once you open your tomatoes, stir in a little bit of sugar. Dishes that are heavy in other flavors, like chilies or taco soup, may not need it but try adding a little honey or sugar to tomato sauce or salsa to cover up some of that citric acid taste.

Crushed Tomatoes

Citric acid

Tomatoes, cored and roughly chopped-skin them if you prefer, but leave the seeds in

Pint jars

Optional: salt and dried herbs

Prep a boiling water bath. I like to fill it with as many half pints or pints as I can fit in, since tomatoes are so watery output is can be all over the place. But generally speaking think a pound a pint.

In a large heavy bottomed pot, add the chopped tomatoes. Bring to a slow boil, stirring occasionally and allow to cook down. Add your salt or herbs if using.

When the tomatoes have gotten as thick as you would like, add 1/4 teaspoon of citric acid to each jar and fill with tomatoes. Remove bubbles.

Process 35-40 minutes for pints.

HK on Twitter     HK on Pinterest    HK on Facebook

Leave a Reply

