Golden Hot Sauce

pepper-662550_1280

Hot sauce and I have a running love affair. I am dreaming of all sorts of sauce this summer.

Literally.

No joke, this recipe hit me in my sleep. I was taking a nap and then bam, I have to go make hot sauce.

I used a bag of pre-shredded carrots, because I had them. I don’t normally buy my carrots pre-sliced or pre-shredded but Tops had them marked down to move them and they were cheaper that way.

Note:

You don’t have to throw the mash out. You can stir in a little extra vinegar until it’s as thin as you would like and serve it as a really chunky sauce.

Make sure you wear gloves for the entire process.

Golden Hot Sauce

3 cups apple cider vinegar

1 tablespoon salt

10 oz shredded or chopped carrots

6 (or more) superhot peppers

optional:

1/2 tablespoon pickling spice

1/2 tablespoon ground tumeric

1/2 tablespoon ground mustard

Bring all to a boil, boil until everything is very soft.

Allow to cool to room temperature. Blend until smooth.

Using a fine mesh sieve or a strainer lined with paper, drain off the fluid. Discard or dehydrate solids; refrigerate the sauce.

2 comments

  1. on one hand, this looks amazing. on the other hand, i am getting heartburn just reading it. at the same time, i think i’ve got the stuff to try this out and make some to give a friend. thanks for sharing the recipe. 🙂 any peppers you think would be best for it?

Leave a Reply

