Cold Season Chicken (Chili Yogurt Baked Chicken)

chiliyogurtsauce1

I’m facing my normal fall cold.

This one is nasty-the symptoms aren’t terrible, the congestion and whatnot is lower than normal. But I have a low level migraine that’s making my teeth flare and I can’t work up the energy to actually do anything.

I normally burn out colds (it’s superstitious, but I still do it, every time) and I can only shove Mid out the door and tell him to fend for himself so many times.

This recipe is a mishmash of several, the result of what was in my kitchen. It’s adjustable that way-the only thing I would probably add is slightly more acid in there somewhere. Maybe a splash of fire cider?

If the sauce comes out too thick, add a little stock, fire cider, or a little more soy sauce.

Chili Yogurt Baked Chicken

1-2 chicken breasts

1 small tub greek yogurt. Confession-I used low sugar vanilla. Because I had it and this recipe is potent enough that the vanilla won’t clash. Use plain, preferrably, however.

1 tsp ground ginger

1 tsp ground tumeric

1 tsp black pepper

a couple of teaspoons chili oil

1 tblsp or so ketchup

1 tblsp or so tomato paste

1 tsp or so Chinese five spice

2 tblsp or so each oyster sauce and soy sauce

1-2 onions, chopped

Any other vegetables for roasting

Preheat oven to 325

Place chicken and vegetables in pan

Mix sauce, rub onto chicken

Bake until chicken juice runs clear, about 20-30 minutes for the lower temperature.

Leave a Reply

