December is [Still] for the Shining

snow-245285_1280

Last year’s Horror Confession regarding my tradition of reading the Shining in December. And it still holds true, I’m about a quarter of the way through this year’s reading after starting it on the train on Sunday. It was actually a little odd-I hadn’t reloaded it, but it was the first book on my Kindle when I opened it. It had to be an update to the file, but it still made me sit and stare for a few seconds.

I just downloaded The Shining back onto my Kindle.

I’m not telling you this just for blog fodder. If I wanted to just talk, I’d tell you about the week I’ve been having-because while the net result is positive, it’s been eventful (including discovering the length of my kitchen pipe has been cracked for who knows how long and dumping into the basement).

Next month is December, and December is for The Shining.

There are certain books I read at certain times-the big two being American Gods in May and The Shining in December. I don’t really have a good relationship with winter, though I think that may change this year. I don’t know why I say that other than a lack of my normal brooding angst headed into the month.

Somehow The Shining has come to stand for all of my darkness towards winter. Maybe you’d have to live in Buffalo to get it, I don’t know. The only other book that may touch it would be Storm of the Century. I don’t know what it is with Stephen King and snow. There is also something about the madness that runs through the novel. I don’t want to say that I recognize it…but maybe I do.

I just walked in on Mid watching the Kindle light go on and off when he closed the cover, like when you discover that the fridge light goes on and off when you close the door. He might have been standing in a dark bathroom at the time.

Maybe this madness really is a Buffalo thing.

Leave a Reply

