Bone Broth, or, Whole Use Cooking

chicken bone broth

I need seven thousand dollars worth of dental work.

That’s not exaggeration, nor is it a push for pity. I’ve known since I was a teenager that I was most likely going to lose my teeth early.

What is, though, it a very large, very expensive monkey wrench into 2016. You know, of the type where you have to tell people you owe money to that it’s going to have to be a payment plan situation as I basically have my jaw rebuilt. It has also lit a fire under me, and gotten me back into heavy homesteading (I seriously planted a sprouting onion today just to avoid having to throw it out). I was into the idea of whole use/tail to snout cooking this year anyway, but I’m really into that path now.

There’s a lot of old wives tales floating around the Internet about bone broth that actually makes it sound applicable for weak teeth as well. I can’t vouch, and if you read some sites it’s sort of the meaty equivalent of coconut oil-if it doesn’t cure you, you weren’t sick in the first place. It is however heavy on minerals and gelatin and other nice things leeched from the bones-and these are things I often find myself low on.

Long, rambling story to get to the point that I’ve been making quarts of the stuff and using it in everything from rice to soup and spiking it with hot peppers and just drinking it plain.

**You can do this with a crock pot, and a lot of people prefer it that way. My crock pot had a run in with a cast iron pan and is now a tomato planter. I have done two separate things to good results-one is to pull it off the heat, fridge it over night, and start the simmer process again in the morning. The second is just to set it on low, and let it go all night that way.

Bone Broth [Either beef or chicken]

A. If you are using beef bones, or frozen poultry carcasses, roast first at roughly 400-450 for about half an hour. You can rub with tomato paste for flavor

B. You’ll know when it’s about ‘done’ when the bones start to crumble-and they will crumble. For chicken it hits about the 20-24 hour mark

C. I roast a chicken every Monday night and throw the stripped carcass into the freezer until I run out of room. I also have bags in the freezer where I throw vegetable scraps until I make another batch

Bones, assorted sizes, some with meat still on (or not, but the meat adds flavor)

Water

Apple cider vinegar

Assorted vegetables/scraps-normally onion, celery, carrots, maybe some potato peelings

Spices-normally peppercorns, a bay leaf, thyme, parsley, whole garlic cloves, salt

 

Add the bones to a large stock pot, cover with water and a couple good glugs of apple cider vinegar [home brew is fine here, since the acidity level isn’t necessary for preservation]. Let sit about an hour to start pulling minerals from the bones

Add vegetables and seasonings

Bring to a boil for about 10 minutes, then lower and simmer about 24 hours, up to as long as 36 hours. Add water as necessary.

Strain.

2 comments

Leave a Reply

