Medieval Chickens

pixabay

pixabay

I have a weird relationship with both time and thyme. Both disappear on me, and show up in my life in odd patterns, and as much as I love both I end up with a stockpile lost into nothingness. I own something like four packages of thyme in my kitchen somewhere.

How many did I find when I went to make this?

One. I found one. Stuck in some mail.

Don’t ask me to explain this, because I don’t have an answer.

I bake a chicken every Monday night now, at least until it gets too hot to want to run the oven that long. I throw the carcass in the freezer and make bone broth, and we eat off of the bird for a couple of days. I normally cook it plain but I found this on an ahem secret Facebook group. And I love thyme.

…So, if you posted this recipe, credit to you, you know who you are.

[Actually] Medieval Chicken

**I have been told that it actually is a medieval era recipe. The original was written for leg quarters but I roasted a whole chicken. I also didn’t measure since I sort of changed this to a rub

1 roasting chicken

Black Pepper

Paprika

Dried Garlic

Thyme

Olive oil

*Follow your favored roasting instructions, I normally go for about an hour and a half at 350 in a bag

Rub chicken with herbs and oil, and bake. It might bake up dark, and that’s fine [accurate to time period, apparently]

Leave a Reply

