Pinterest Made Me Do It-The Tomato Slice Hack

heirloom sprouts

I haven’t posted one of these in a good long while.

The idea is that instead of trying to sprout and grow individual seeds you cut up a tomato and plant that.

I…never actually read the original post. So some of what I did I seem to have done wrong, and some of what I did, I did on the advice of wiser Facebook friends.

There doesn’t seem to be much more to the pin/viral post other than chop up a tomato, plant it in a pot, wait for a plant. Here’s what I was told by word of mouth: the tomato should be an heirloom tomato in order for it to have a chance to actually grow tomatoes, and that the tomato should be sliced thin.

So two things here:

  1. I actually have access to heirloom tomatoes. While I wanted a black one I ended up with a plum/Roma type. It was the smallest, I didn’t want to spend a ton of money on this, and I’ve heard since then that blacks are really finicky to grow. The fact that I have steady access to heirlooms seems surprising to people. I’m working off the assumption it was actually an heirloom,it was in the heirloom bin.
  2. I found out about the ‘thin’ thing after the fact. I didn’t slice it thin. About as thin as you would for a hamburger, I ended up with 4 slices.

I’m not sure what happened to my fancy planting photo but it’s boring. I will say this though since I don’t know if it’s actually relevant here. I drowned the pot two or three times before I realized that the pot wasn’t draining properly and I transplanted it to the pot it’s in now. The soaking wet potting soil may be a factor here, I don’t know.

Perhaps this is me being unfair but the other thing I noticed is that it took a good while for them to sprout. I was actually about to dump the pot and use it for herbs when I dug up one of the slices and found it full of sprouts. Now that it’s going, though, I’ve gotten a ton of sprouts and the entry photo is the first thinning.

*Again, I’m working off the assumption the tomato was an heirloom. Since I can’t verify that, I’m considering the post a success-the pin was about planting tomatoes and getting them to grow. They grew. I didn’t plant with the end goal of a huge crop of tomatoes.

**I’m practicing what I call Meh gardening. I planted them. I put them in the sun, the neighbors seem to tolerate where they’re at. They get watered if it’s really dry (that’s the bottle in the photo), otherwise I let them get watered when it rains. I haven’t fed them, I haven’t done anything other than pick obvious dandelion seeds out of the pot. If they grow awesome if not oh well. I’m taking the stance that nature doesn’t mess with plants and neither will I. If I feel like feeding them once they get bigger I will if not, okay too.

One comment

  1. Actually, nature feeds plants all the time. 🙂 Just not in the ways that are nice and suburbanite clean. Nature feeds plants with rotting leaves, decaying logs, festering dead bodies, wriggly worms, lots of poop and urine from animals and fungi networks that spread from feet to miles away from the plants roots to distribute trace minerals. Tomatoes are South American plants from the equator and jungles, meaning they grow where it’s hot, sunny, wet and lots of rich soil filled with all the above mentioned nutrient sources. They won’t sprout unless it is wet and hot as well. Good luck with your tomatoes!

Leave a Reply

