Fall (and Winter) Plans

Ghost Sighitng- Mourning in England and America

Ghost Sighting- Del Toro and the Haunted Mansion via Famous Monsters of Filmland

Ghost Sighting-Poe’s the Haunted Palace via Southern Ghosts

WINTER IS COMING.

Watch me get swarmed with people looking for Game of Thrones stuff now that I’ve mentioned the screamingly obvious.

at least it wasn’t a complete waste of time for you guys. (i don’t hold the copyright for this image, nor claim to)

I finally have mittens finished, and I’m set for scarves. I should knit myself a new slouch hat or two.

I’m involved in a rather large scale ambitious knitting related charity project that’s been keeping me pretty busy knitting scarves. I have two or three pattern posts started with fairly simple, fast knit patterns. I know that my patterns haven’t been too complicated lately but if we need hundreds of them, they can’t be fine lacework either.

If winter is coming, then so is Christmas.

I just want it put out there so that everyone is clear, I’m not actually starting working on Christmas right now unless I start finding stuff at great prices. But I don’t want to go through the Snigna fiasco all over again this year.

my photo, but not my tree

Mid has put in a request for fingerless mittens this year, so unless something goes strange I can wait until after Thanksgiving to start. I know what I want to do for my mom and I can wait until October to start worrying about that. My dad will be fairly straightforward.

-Thanksgiving before Christmas

I have no idea who to credit for this image- the movie is Thankskilling and I’ve had the image hanging out on my writing flashdrive forever.

Guess what. I’m now an adult. I get to host my first Thanksgiving this year…for 20 people. Nothing like jumping in with both feet.

But first, Halloween

I have no idea what are plans are for the Samhain side or the Halloween side will end up being this year. but I have a costume idea, and hopefully it won’t be too expensive. I need to finish the knitting part of the project though.

And before Samhain, we have Mabon.

Let me tell you Internets about how I’ve been dealing with a rash of angst, drama, and misinformation. There’s not much left on the wheel of the year to be afraid of if you spent 5 minutes on Google. Even Wikipedia is pretty even-keeled now about the Sabbats (trust me, I remember the infamous Samhain battles when Wikipedia first came out.). Bread people, bread is not terrifying. Really. And that’s what we’re faced with now- the harvest.

Which means canning. Pickles, specifically, right now. I may have to break out my quart jars which I don’t really like to do because they flood the top of my stove and I have to use my canner instead of a stock pot. Maybe I can make it work though.

I’m going to have to, is the bottom line. Cucumbers wait for no man.

6 months ago- Comfort Cooking and Cast Iron

Leave a comment