Pinterest Made Me Do It-Bakery Style Cake

The Pinterest tip I tried this weekend was a way to mod a cake mix to taste like a bakery cake. True confessions-I fall back on cake mixes because I don’t like the way I make homemade cakes. Each one I make is better, I can tell that much, but I just don’t like them.

The tip says to use 1 more egg than required, twice the melted butter than required oil, and milk instead of water.

So for my Duncan Hines mix, the back of the box says I need-

3 eggs

1 cup water

1/3 cup oil

Instead, following the tip, I used-

4 eggs

1 cup milk

2/3 cups butter, melted

My thoughts

-The batter definitely seemed more like pudding than normal. It was much thicker and shinier than normal.

-The cake seemed to take about 10 min longer than normal to cook through, but I also forgot to preheat the oven.

-It may be that I was using a dark chocolate mix, but it seemed to smell less strongly of chocolate than normal.

-It did make a very nice cake. I don’t know if I’ll always do this for every cake, but it was a nice change.

Linked to-

this gal cooks     sew chatty    flour me with love

ClaireJustine    lines across     homemaker on a dime

Sumo’s Sweet Stuff     Stonegable

tumbleweed contessa

today’s creative    mandy’s recipe box

7 comments

Leave a comment